Mike Matusow, Jennifer Harman Part of Finalist Group

Published on September 25th, 2013 7:08 pm EST

Poker Hall of Fame - Logo - World Series of Poker - WSOPEarlier today, the World Series of Poker released the list of the ten people who have been named as finalists for the 2013 Poker Hall of Fame induction class.

The 10 finalists are:

1. Chris Bjorin
2. Humberto Brenes
3. David Chiu
4. Thor Hansen
5. Jennifer Harman
6. Mike Matusow
7. Tom McEvoy
8. Carlos Mortensen
9. Scotty Nguyen
10. Huckleberry Seed

The 10 finalists were chosen through a public nomination process on WSOP.com. The list was vetted by the Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council and released to the public earlier today.

37 people, including the 19 living Hall of Fame members and 18 members of the media, will cast their votes later in the month. Up to two of the names listed above will end up being inducted into the 2013 Poker Hall of Fame class. The induction ceremony will be take place during a special dinner/ceremony on Sunday, November 3rd.


Here are the criteria that will be considered by the 37 voters:

-must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
-must be a minimum of 40 years old
-must have played for high stakes
-must have played consistently well while gaining the respect of peers
-must have stood the test of time
-for non-players, must have contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results


The last two names to be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame were Eric Drache and Brian "Sailor" Roberts.

Source: WSOP.com - Poker Hall of Fame


Filed Under: The World Series of Poker

Related Articles