Daniel Negreanu a First Ballot Inductee

Published on October 23rd, 2014 11:11 pm EST

The King is reporting on the WSOP Poker Hall of Fame - Class of 2014 - Daniel Negreanu and Jack McClellandWSOP.com's Editor-In-Chief, Seth Palansky, revealed earlier today that Daniel Negreanu and Jack McClelland will be the next two inductees into Poker's Hall of Fame. Negreanu and McClelland, who will be the 47th and 48th members of the Poker Hall of Fame, will officially be inducted on Sunday, November 9th at Binion's Gambling Hall in Las Vegas.

Negreanu and McClelland were two of a number of people to be nominated by the public. Negreanu and McClelland were then voted into the Poker Hall of Fame by a 41-person panel consisting of existing members of the Poker Hall of Fame and a "Blue Ribbon Media Panel".

Finalists such as Mike Matusow, Huck Seed and Ted Forrest were not voted in this year but will remain eligible for future induction.


Here are the main criteria for entering the Poker Hall of Fame:

A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition

Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination

Played for high stakes

Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers

Stood the test of time

Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Daniel Negreanu, with his six WSOP bracelets and $29.8 million in total live tournament cashes, ticks off all of the top five points in the list above. Negreanu is outspoken, well-respected and has certainly stood the test of time. Negreanu is one of the most recognizable names in the poker world and has been an excellent ambassador for the game.

Jack McClelland, who retired late last year, contributed to the game of poker over a five decade stretch by working as a tournament director at the Golden Nugget Casino, Commerce Casino and Bellagio. McClelland, like Negreanu, has also had a lasting impact on the game and is deserving of his induction into the Poker Hall of Fame.


Negreanu and McClelland will join names such as Doyle Brunson, Phil Hellmuth and Johnny Chan as members of the Poker Hall of Fame in November.

Congratulations to both men.

Source: WSOP.com - Poker Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2014


Filed Under: Other Poker News

Related Articles