First Starting Flight To Begin on Sunday Afternoon

Published on October 14th, 2015 2:53 am EST

World Series of Poker Europe (WSOPE) 2015 - Berlin, Germany - Ad, logo, promoThe World Series of Poker Europe main event, which is taking place at Spielbank Berlin in Berlin, Germany, is set to officially get underway this weekend.

The event, which will have a buy-in of 10,450 Euros, will begin on Sunday, October 18th and conclude on Saturday, October 24th. There will be two opening flights (Sunday, Monday, both with starting times of 12 pm local time) and a day off on Friday, October 23rd (the High Roller NLHE final table will be taking place on this day).

In the never-ending chase for bracelets, many of poker's top names, including Phil Hellmuth and George Danzer, just to name a few, are participating in this year's World Series of Poker Europe main event.


The WSOPE main event has been run seven times previously, with Annette Obrestad winning the first (2007) and Adrian Mateos winning the most recent (2013). Note: The WSOP APAC and WSOPE alternate years in which they are held, which is why the WSOPE wasn't held last year.

Here are the seven previous winners of the main event:

2007 - Annette Obrestad
2008 - John Juanda
2009 - Barry Shulman
2010 - James Bord
2011 - Elio Fox
2012 - Phil Hellmuth
2013 - Adrian Mateos

As you can see, some very big names have already won the WSOPE main event. Daniel Negreanu came agonizingly close in 2009, eventually finishing in second place behind Barry Shulman.


2013's WSOPE, which took place in France, ended up attracting a total field of 375 players.


Filed Under: The World Series of Poker

Related Articles