Johns Takes Down $10,000 Limit Hold'em Championship for $290,635

Published on June 20th, 2016 3:36 pm EST

Chip stack belonging to poker player Ian Johns at the 2016 WSOP in Las VegasJason Mercier has been the talk of this year's World Series of Poker so far, thanks to his two bracelet wins and monstrous bracelet bets.

Ian Johns, however, is also putting together an extraordinary WSOP run, as he won his second bracelet of the summer late last night.


Johns got off his summer off to a great start in Event #8 ($1,500 H.O.R.S.E.), which he ended up taking down for $212,604. Johns was able to take out a very tough final table that included the likes of Justin Bonomo, Noah Bronstein and Andre Akkari.

Following a 21st place finish in the $10,000 H.O.R.S.E. Championship, Johns made another deep run, this time in the $10,000 Limit Hold'em Championship event (Event #28). Johns had his work cut out for him, as Brian Rast, David Chiu and Bill Chen were just some of his opponents at the final table. Once again, Johns was able to maintain his laser focus to take down a gold bracelet, the second of the summer and third of his career. Note: Johns' first WSOP bracelet came all the way back in 2006, when he took down the $3,000 Limit Hold'em event for $291,755.

Only six players - Puggy Pearson, Phil Hellmuth, Ted Forrest, Phil Ivey, Jeffrey Lisandro and George Danzer - have managed to win three World Series of Poker bracelets in one year. Nobody has managed to win four.

With dozens of bracelet events left to be played this year, Jason Mercier and Ian Johns have very good shots of adding themselves to a very special list of players who have managed to win at least three bracelets in a single year. Given how well both men are playing right now, there is also a good chance that two players win three bracelets in a single year, which has only happened once before (1993 - Hellmuth and Forrest).

Ian Johns currently sits in fourth place in the WSOP Player of the Year race with a total of 912.59 points, far behind the torrid pace that is being set by Jason Mercier (1,195.98 points).


Filed Under: The World Series of Poker

Related Articles