Moneymaker Joins Eli Elezra and Todd Brunson as New Nominees

Published on September 14th, 2016 7:05 pm EST

The Poker Hall of Fame - 2016 logo versionEarlier this week, the World Series of Poker announced that there are 10 finalists who will be eligible for induction into the Poker Hall of Fame in 2016.

The inclusion of one name in the list of finalists - Chris Moneymaker - has sparked a tremendous amount of discussion in online poker forums. Moneymaker, along with Todd Brunson and Eli Elezra, are the new candidates for inclusion into the Poker Hall of Fame this year. The remainder of the list - Chris Bjorin, Humberto Brenes, Bruno Fitoussi, Carlos Mortensen, Max Pescatori, Matt Savage and David "Devilfish" Ulliott - have all been nominated in the past.


There is no doubt that Chris Moneymaker was instrumental in the growth of the game of poker over the past 10+ years. After all, it was Moneymaker's victory in the 2003 World Series of Poker main event that started the "poker boom". The story of how an amateur player qualified for the WSOP main event on Pokerstars and eventually won poker's great prize captivated the world and sent many millions of players to the likes of Party Poker and Pokerstars. The poker world was never the same after Moneymaker's victory.

The question that many people are debating, however, is this - does Moneymaker's victory in the 2003 World Series of Poker main event earn him a spot in the Poker Hall of Fame? After all, players are supposed to satisfy these criteria in order to be eligible for entry:

-must have played poker against top competition
-must be a minimum of 40 years of age
-must have played for high stakes
-must have played consistently well, gaing the respect of peers
-must have stood the test of time

Will the likes of Daniel Negreanu and Doyle Brunson believe that Chris Moneymaker has satisfied all of these criteria?


Who do you think should be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame this year?



Filed Under: Other Poker News

Related Articles