Induction Ceremony Set For Wednesday, October 26th

Published on October 14th, 2016 4:45 am EST

The WSOP Poker Hall of Fame - Logo on top of metalic square surface.Earlier today, the World Series of Poker revealed that Todd Brunson and Carlos Mortensen will be the 51st and 52nd individuals to be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony is set for Wednesday, October 26th.

The list of the ten finalists included some impressive names - Mortensen, Brunson, Chris Bjorin, Humberto Brenes, Eli Elezra, Bruno Fitoussi, Chris Moneymaker, Max Pescatori, Matt Savage and David "Devilfish" Ulliott. In the end, Brunson and Mortensen, who are both very well respected in the poker community, will be getting the nod this year.


Mortensen and Brunson were nominated by a 44-person panel that included every living member of the Poker Hall of Fame and a "Blue Ribbon Media Panel". In order to qualify for induction, Mortensen and Brunson had to satisfy these criteria:

-A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
-Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
-Played for high stakes
-Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
-Stood the test of time
-Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results


While Todd Brunson certainly prefers Las Vegas' cash games, the son of Doyle Brunson has still managed to amass nearly $4.3 million in total lifetime tournament cashes. Brunson is known for his playful table banter and knowledge of a wide range of poker games.

Carlos Mortensen, on the other hand, has nearly $12 million in total tournament cashes, including a win in the 2011 World Series of Poker main event. While other players take down a big score and subsequently disappear from the circuit, Mortensen has managed to stay active for multiple decades. Mortensen, who is #1 on Spain's all-time money list, is another player that is loved by quite a few of his peers.


Mortensen and Todd Brunson will join names such as Daniel Negreanu, Stu Ungar and Dan Harrington in the Poker Hall of Fame.

Source: - Poker Hall of Fame Announces 2016 Induction Class


Filed Under: The World Series of Poker

Related Articles