New HOF Class To Be Inducted In July

Published on June 15th, 2017 5:14 pm EST

The King is on the mic.  Presenting the Poker Hall of Fame candidates.Earlier today, the World Series of Poker announced that online voting for the 2017 Poker Hall of Fame class is now available.

Members of the public are able to nominate people for the 2017 Poker Hall of Fame class. After online balloting ends, submissions will be tabulated and the top 10 nominations will be sent to existing Poker Hall of Fame members as well as a "blue ribbon media panel" for final voting. One or two new members of the Poker Hall of Fame will be chosen, with their induction taking place in conjunction with the World Series of Poker main event final table in July.


The main criteria for induction into the Poker Hall of Fame includes:

-players must have played against top competition over the years

-players must have played for high stakes

-must be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination

-players must have played considerably well, gaining the respect of peers

-players must have stood the test of time

-non-players must have contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results


Some of the recent inductees include:


Todd Brunson
Carlos Mortensen


Jennifer Harman
John Juanda


Jack McClelland
Daniel Negreanu

There are currently 23 living members of the Poker Hall of Fame, while a total of 52 people have had the honor bestowed upon them.


Phil Ivey, who recently turned 40, is seen as an absolute lock to be inducted this year. This will be his first year of eligibility.

Finalists for the 2016 Poker Hall of Fame who didn't quite make it last year include Chris Bjorin, Humberto Brenes, Eli Elezra, Bruno Fitoussi, Chris Moneymaker, Max Pescatori, Matt Savage and David "Devilfish" Ulliott.

The nomination page can be found via the link below:

Source: - 2017 Poker Hall of Fame Online Ballot


Filed Under: The World Series of Poker

Related Articles