Brian Rast Looks To Defend His Title

Published on July 2nd, 2017 4:04 pm EST

The King is in the zone.  Doing research on his laptop at the office.The Poker Player's Championship, which many poker players consider to be the toughest tournament to win in all of poker, is set to get underway later today at the World Series of Poker.

While winning the WSOP main event is largely seen as an exercise in luck, the $50,000 Poker Player's Championship is seen as the ultimate in determining the world's most well-rounded poker player.

The tournament consists of ten games - they are:

Limit 2-7 Triple Draw Lowball
Limit Texas Hold'em
Limit Omaha 8/Better
Limit Razz
Limit Seven-Card Stud
Limit Seven-Card Stud 8/Better
No Limit Texas Hold'em
Pot Limit Omaha
2-7 No Limit Draw Lowball

As you can see, the tournament requires that players be skilled in a number of different games in order to have a chance of winning. For this reason, the $50k Poker Player's Championship is seen as the toughest tournament to win in all of poker.


The winner of the event will be awarded the Chip Reese trophy. Reese, who passed away in 2007, is widely regarded as being one of the greatest poker players of all time.

Here is a list of the former winners of the event:

2006 - Chip Reese
2007 - Freddy Deeb
2008 - Scotty Nguyen
2009 - David Bach
2010 - Michael Mizrachi
2011 - Brian Rast
2012 - Michael Mizrachi
2013 - Matthew Ashton
2014 - John Hennigan
2015 - Mike Gorodinsky
2016 - Brian Rast


The tournament, which will run for five days, gets underway at 3 pm on Sunday afternoon.


Filed Under: The World Series of Poker

Related Articles