Deeb Can't Be Caught as WSOPE Main Event Moves Towards Conclusion

Published on October 31st, 2018 4:31 pm EST

Poker player of the year 2018 - Who is it?Shaun Deeb officially can't be caught.

With just a handful of players left in the World Series of Poker Europe main event, Shaun Deeb has built himself up enough of a lead so that he can no longer be caught in the World Series of Poker Player of the Year race.

This concludes an incredible couple of months for Deeb that has includes two World Series of Poker bracelets ($25,000 Pot Limit Omaha High Roller and $10,000 No Limit Hold'em Six-Max), four final table appearances, 20 cashes and over $2.53 million in total WSOP tournament earnings.

At the end of the day, nobody else was even close to Deeb at the World Series of Poker this year.


With his POY title, Deeb joins a list of WSOP Player of the Year winners that includes the likes of Daniel Negreanu (2x), Jason Mercier, Allen Cunningham and Ben Lamb. The full list looks like this:

2018 - Shaun Deeb
2017 - Chris Ferguson
2016 - Jason Mercier
2015 - Mike Gorodinksky
2014 - George Danzer
2013 - Daniel Negreanu
2012 - Greg Merson
2011 - Ben Lamb
2010 - Frank Kassela
2009 - Jeffrey Lisandro
2008 - Erick Lindgren
2007 - Tom Schneider
2006 - Jeff Madsen
2005 - Allen Cunningham
2004 - Daniel Negreanu


In the end, the race for the WSOP POY title wasn't even close, as Deeb ended up finishing more than 1,300 points ahead of his next closest rival, Ben Yu.

As a result of his first place finish in the POY race, Deeb will receive a free entry to the 2019 World Series of Poker main event in Las Vegas.


Filed Under: The World Series of Poker

Related Articles