Bertrand Grospellier, Michael Mizrachi, Layne Flack Eligible For Selection for Poker Hall of Fame

Published on October 22nd, 2021 1:25 pm EST

Poker Hall of Fame 2021 candidates.Earlier this week, the ten finalists for possible induction into the 2021 Poker Hall of Fame class were announced.

Some of the names, including Mike Matusow, Antonio Esfandari and Isai Scheinberg, were eligible for induction last year but did not make it in.

Three new names are on this year's list - they are:

Bertrand "Elky" Grospellier
Michael Mizrachi
Layne Flack

Grospellier and Mizrachi are both eligible this year as they just turned 40.


Here is the full list of finalists for the 2021 Poker Hall of Fame class:

Eli Elezra
Antonio Esfandiari
Chris Ferguson
Layne Flack
Ted Forrest
Bertrand "Elky" Grospellier
Mike Matusow
Michael Mizrachi
Matt Savage
Isai Scheinberg


The criteria for induction into the Poker Hall of Fame looks like this:

-player must have played against acknowledged top competition
-be a minimum of 40 years old
-played for high stakes
-played consistently well, gaining respect of peers
-for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible and lasting results


There are obviously some controversial names on the list, including Chris Ferguson and Isai Scheinberg.

Given that the living members of the Poker Hall of Fame vote on who gets in, it seems very unlikely that Chris Ferguson will ever be granted entry.

Isai Scheinberg is a more controversial choice, as some of the living members of the Poker Hall of Fame were very vocal in believing that Scheinberg, who was a co-founder of Pokerstars, should have been voted in.

This year should be a very interesting vote, as you can make a strong argument for many of these names.


Filed Under: The World Series of Poker

Related Articles