Published on June 5th, 2008 5:13 am EST

WSOP Logo - World Series of PokerErick Lindgren overcame an extremely stacked 332 player field to capture his first World Series of Poker bracelet on early Thursday morning in the $5k Mixed Hold'em event. Lindgren overcame Justin "Zeejustin" Bonomo in heads-up play to take down the first place prize of $374,505, plus the coveted World Series of Poker bracelet. This was Lindgren's first ever World Series of Poker bracelet.

The final table of the event was a great mix of experience and youth. As mentioned, Lindgren and Bonomo finished first and second. The final table also included the following names: Roland de Wolfe, Howard Lederer, David Williams and Isaac Haxton. This was an extremely strong final table (and event, for that matter), and Lindgren's victory was well-earned.

Lindgren's lack of a World Series of Poker bracelet must have been frustrating to him, especially given his ultra-competitive nature. He has come agonizingly close before (second place finish in the 2006 $5k Short-Handed No Limit Hold'em event), but was never able to seal the deal. Prior to this event, Lindgren had already had a phenomenal career which included $5.96 million in total lifetime cashes and two WPT titles, but no WSOP bracelet.

For Justin "Zeejustin" Bonomo, this was yet another deep run in a major tournament without a win. As we've said before, you have to figure that it is just a matter of time before he takes one down.

The final hand of the tournament came when Lindgren raised pre-flop and Bonomo called. They saw a flop of 10-5-3 with two clubs. Both players checked, and the turn card was the 4 of hearts. "Zeejustin" bet 80,000, and Lindgren called. The river was the eight of hearts. Bonomo bet again, Lindgren raised, and Bonomo called, putting himself all-in.

Lindgren turned up A-2 for a straight, while Bonomo showed 5-4 for two pair.

"Zeejustin" received $230,159 for his second place finish. This was Bonomo's second trip to a WSOP final table - he finished in fourth place in a $2k No Limit Hold'em event in 2007 for $156k.

With this victory, Erick Lindgren will move up to 20th on the all-time money list, one behind Johnny Chan.


Filed Under: The World Series of Poker

Related Articles