Michael Mizrachi Is Early Leader in 2010 World Series of Poker POY Race

Published on June 8th, 2010 5:44 pm EST

-- The King is holding the WSOP chip --After 13 of 57 events at the 2010 World Series of Poker, Michael "The Grinder" Mizrachi currently holds the lead in the race for WSOP Player of the Year (POY).

Michael Mizrachi already has two final table appearances this year, as well as his first World Series of Poker bracelet.

Mizrachi took down the prestigious $50,000 Poker Player's Championship for $1,559,046, and followed this up with a sixth place finish in the $10k Seven Card Stud World Championship for $68,949.

Through 13 events, Mizrachi has a total of 145 WSOP POY Points, which is 30 more than his next closest competitor (Vladimir Schmelev, who final tabled the same two events as Mizrachi, finishing 7th in the $10k Seven Card Stud event and 2nd in the $50k Poker Player's Championship).

Here are the top five players in the 2010 POY standings so far:

1. Michael Mizrachi, 145 points
2. Vladimir Schmelev, 115 points
3. Peter Gelencser, 110 points
4. Dan Heimiller, 105 points
5. Men Nguyen, 105 points


A total of five players have been able to cash in three events so far this year. They are:

Vincent Jacques
Tad Jurgens
Steven Mcloughlin
Daniel Adams
Allaksei Kastsiushyn

Jacques has a total of 85 POY points, thanks in large part to his second place finish in Event #5 ($1,500 No Limit Hold'em).

Source: WSOP.com


Filed Under: The World Series of Poker

Related Articles