Top Vote-Getters for World Series of Poker TOC Revealed

Published on June 16th, 2010 10:36 pm EST

-- World Series of Poker - WSOP - Tournament of Champions - Logo --Fans were able to vote this year for the players that they believed should participate in the 2010 World Series of Poker Tournament of Champions (TOC).

Voting was open from March 15th until 12 am on June 15th. In total, 355,081 votes were cast.

The names at the top of the list were very unsurprising, as Phil Ivey (16,267 votes) and Daniel Negreanu (16,239 votes) ended up receiving the highest number of votes. Doyle Brunson (13,796 votes), Phil Hellmuth (12,673 votes) and Chris "Jesus" Ferguson (11,585 votes) rounded out the top five.

Here are the twenty players that were voted in by fans:

Phil Ivey, 16,267 votes
Daniel Negreanu, 16,239 votes
Doyle Brunson, 13,796 votes
Phil Hellmuth, 12,673 votes
Chris Ferguson, 11,585 votes
Allen Cunningham, 10,486 votes
Johnny Chan, 10,434 votes
Scotty Nguyen, 9,834 votes
Barry Greenstein, 9,806 votes
John Juanda, 8,835 votes
Erik Seidel, 8,802 votes
Jennifer Harman, 8,206 votes
Huck Seed, 8,180 votes
Dan Harrington, 7,342 votes
T.J. Cloutier, 6,281 votes
Sammy Farha, 6,085 votes
Howard Lederer, 5,596 votes
Greg Raymer, 5,404 votes
Joe Hachem, 5,272 votes
Antonio Esfandiari, 5,129 votes

The following five players all received automatic exemptions:

Annie Duke (2004 TOC Champion)
Mike Matusow (2005 TOC Champion)
Mike Sexton (2006 TOC Champion)
Joe Cada (2009 WSOP main event Champion)
Barry Shulman (2009 WSOPE main event Champion)

Bertrand "ElkY" Grospellier (WSOP Academy Playoff Winner) and Andrew Barton ( UK Qualifier) will round out the list of the 27 players who will be participating in this event, as both received sponsor exemptions.

The 2010 Tournament of Champions will get under way on Sunday, June 27th, with the final table taking place on Sunday, July 4th. The event will be broadcast on ESPN on Tuesday, August 3rd in a special two-hour episode.

The top nine places in this event will pay, with the eventual winner taking home $500,000. The runner-up will receive $250,000, third place will receive $100,000 and finishers 4-9 will all take home $25,000.

If any of the 20 players listed above are unable to participate in the event, then their spot will go to the next player on the list (#21) until all of the spots are filled.


Filed Under: The World Series of Poker

Related Articles