Manny Stavropoulos Wins 2015 Aussie Millions Main Event

Published on February 2nd, 2015 1:23 am EST

Melbourne skyline - Crown Hotel - Night shot - Aussie Millions Poker Championship 2015It has been an eventful couple of days at the 2015 Aussie Millions as two major tournaments reached their conclusions (Main Event, $100,000 Challenge), while the $250,000 Challenge officially got underway.

After a multi-day pause, the $100,000 Challenge final table officially got underway on Saturday afternoon. Ole Schemion entered the final table with the chip lead but it would be Richard Yong who would end up coming out on top.

The final table was a Murderer's Row of poker talent that included the likes of Schemion, Yong, Scott Seiver, Justin Bonomo, Dani Stern, Erik Seidel and $25,000 Challenge winner Alex Trevallion. In the end, however, it was Richard Yong who would manage to outlast this incredibly tough field to take down the first place prize of $1,870,000 AUD.

The final hand of the event occurred when Ole Schemion elected to get his remaining stack into the middle of the table holding 9s-8d after a flop of 7h-6d-2h. Yong called and flipped over Jd-10d. The board ran out 6c-4h, giving Yong the better hand and the victory.

Here is how the final table ended up finishing out:

1. Richard Yong, $1,870,000
2. Ole Schemion, $1,350,000
3. Scott Seiver, $1,000,000
4. Justin Bonomo, $800,000
5. Jason Mo, $630,000
6. Erik Seidel, $500,000
7. Dani Stern, $400,000
8. Alex Trevallion, $310,000


The Aussie Millions main event also reached its conclusion this weekend with Manny Stavropoulos taking down the event for $1,385,500.

There were a couple of high profile pros at the final table (Brian Rast, Richard Lyndaker) but neither lasted very long on Sunday, with Rast going out in fifth place and Lyndaker going out in seventh.

Following a chip deal during heads-up play, Stavropoulos finished off Lennart Uphoff after turning a Jack-high straight. Uphoff had turned a 10-high straight and was sent to the rail in second place.

The final table ended up finishing out like this:

1. Manny Stavropoulos, $1,385,500
2. Lennart Uphoff, $1,214,500
3. Joel Douaglin, $630,000
4. James Rann, $430,000
5. Brian Rast, $315,000
6. Anthony Legg, $235,000
7. Richard Lyndaker, $160,000


The $250,000 Challenge also got underway yesterday. Phil Ivey, who has already won this tournament twice in the past, is leading heading into Day 2. Scott Seiver, Mike McDonald and Erik Seidel are also amongst the group of 10 who managed to survive through to Day 2.


Filed Under: Tournament Results

Related Articles