Published on January 21st, 2008 6:14 pm EST

2008 national heads-up poker championship on nbc tvThanks to one of our readers for pointing out to us that NBC has updated their site with an almost complete list of the participants in the 2008 National Heads-Up Poker Championship. The event will run from February 29th until March 2nd, and will air in April and May on NBC.

Previous winners of the event include Paul Wasicka in 2007, Ted Forrest in 2006 and Phil Hellmuth in 2005. 64 players will be competing for the first place prize of $500k.

Several celebrities have been invited to compete, including Jason Alexander, Shannon Elizabeth and Don Cheadle. There are also a couple of names that will be well-known to sports fans, including Orel Hershiser and Brad Garrett.

The World Series of Poker Main Event will be well-represented as the 2004 (Greg Raymer), 2005 (Joe Hachem), 2006 (Jamie Gold) and 2007 (Jerry Yang) champions have all been invited to play in the event. Chris Moneymaker was left off of the list this year.

Several players who made their names online have been invited to play in the event. Some of these names include Tom "durrrr" Dwan, Brian "sbrugby" Townsend, Jonathan "Fieryjustice" Little, Scott "Bigriskky" Clements and Daniel "Rekrul" Schreiber. Tom Dwan, Jonathan Little, Scott Clements and Daniel Schreiber have all have a tremendous amount of success in live tournament play as well, with Townsend being more of a cash game specialist.

The usual sharks will be present as well. Phil Ivey, Daniel Negreanu, Johnny Chan, Doyle Brunson, Todd Brunson and Barry Greenstein have all been invited to compete.

Previous winners of the event have all received invites as well. This list would include Paul Wasicka, Phil Hellmuth and Ted Forrest.

Also, four players will participate in this event via "special qualifiers."

For the full list of competitors in this year's 2008 Heads-Up Poker Championship, please head to the link below:

List of Invited Players


Filed Under: Tournament Results

Related Articles