$100,000 Aussie Millions No Limit Hold'em Challenge Gets Underway

Published on January 17th, 2009 2:18 am EST

logo - aussie millions - 100k challengeRecession? What recession?

23 players shelled out $100,000 Australian dollars (that works out to about 67,680 US dollars) to play in the 2009 edition of the $100,000 No Limit Hold'em challenge at the Aussie Millions.

The turnout this year was slightly down from last year's numbers (25). The total prize pool is $2.3 million dollars AUD, with the first place winner receiving $1.2 million dollars AUD. The top four spots will pay, with the fourth place finisher receiving $200,000 AUD.

As you can expect, this tournament has attracted some of the richest poker players in the world. Names that entered this event include Chris Ferguson, Phil Ivey, Patrik Antonius and Tony G.

A few of the names that played last year that didn't participate this year include Tom "durrrr" Dwan, Niki Jedlicka, Jeff Garza, Erick Lindgren and Howard Lederer. Lederer won the event last year and won't be able to defend his title.

Just a few hours into play, there have already been a few notable eliminations. Gus Hansen and Phil Ivey have both hit the rail.

Phil Ivey received a five minute penalty for cell phone use during the event - I think that this is the first time that I've ever heard of Ivey receiving a penalty.

The tournament will play down to the final table today. The final table will take place on Sunday afternoon local time.

We'll have another update once the tournament has been completed.


Filed Under: Tournament Results

Related Articles