Robert Mizrachi Continues to Lead Aruba Poker Classic

Published on October 9th, 2009 1:59 am EST

-- 2009 aruba poker classic tournament - logo --1. Aruba Poker Classic Championship.

Robert Mizrachi continues to lead the 2009 Aruba Poker Classic Championship after three full days of play.

Mizrachi entered Day 3 as the chip leader, and will enter Day 4 as the chip leader of the tournament as well.

The money bubble popped on Thursday, with all of the remaining 36 players in the event guaranteed to receive at least $11,520 for making it this far.

The $5,500 event had a total of 475 entrants, creating a total prize pool of just over $2.3 million dollars.

The eventual winner of the event will receive $753,330, while the second place finisher will receive $414,680.

As mentioned, Robert Mizrachi currently sits as the chip leader of the event heading into Day 4.

Mizrachi has around 743k chips in his stack, far ahead of Ty Reiman, who currently sits with around 420k.

Brandon Hall (335k), Brent Roberts (335k) and Eric "basebaldy" Baldwin (330k) currently round out the list of the top five largest stacks.

Travis "TravestyFund" Rice (255k), Brock Parker (175k) and Matt Vengrin (175k) are some of the notable names who are still alive in this event.

Day 4 will get underway on Friday afternoon local time, with the six-handed final table being set by the end of the day.


2. 2009 PKR Heads Up Grand Slam.

Day 1 of the 2009 PKR Heads Up Grand Slam event has now drawn to a close, with 16 of the original 32 entrants making it through to Day 2.

This is an invite-only event that pits some of the world's top players against each other in a heads up format.

This is the first year that the event has been run. It is currently being taped in London and will be shown on Sky Sports and "various international broadcasters". The buy-in is 10k pounds, and the eventual winner of the event will be crowned on October 10th.

Many of the well-known names in the tournament hit the rail on Day 1.

Yevgeniy Timoshenko, Tom Dwan, Ilari "Ziigmund" Sahamies, Annette Obrestad and JC Tran were all eliminated on the first day of play.

Those who managed to make it through to Day 2 included Antonio Esfandiari, Luke Schwartz, Tony G, Lex Veldhuis and Dave "Devilfish" Ulliot.

Here is what the Round of 16 match-ups will look like when Day 2 gets underway on Friday:

Tony G vs Sandra Naujoks
Lex Veldhuis vs Luke Schwartz
John Duthie vs David Steicke
Vicky Coren vs Juha Helppi
Ian Frazier vs Dave Ulliot
Alec Torelli vs Antonio Esfandiari
Massimo Mele vs James Sudworth
Brahim Hajji vs Vladmir Geshkenbein


3. Aaron Gustavson Wins EPT London Main Event.

Congratulations to Aaron Gustavson on winning the 2009 EPT London Main Event.

Gustavson managed to outlast 2008 WSOP Champion Peter Eastgate in heads up play to take down the 850k pound first place prize.

Here is a quick look at the final table of the event, courtesy of

Watch EPT 6 London Day 5: Aaron Gustavson wins EPT 6 London on

Gustavson's win was no fluke, as he was near the top of the leader board for most of the tournament.

Peter Eastgate is now seventh on the all-time money list with his second place finish in this event.


Filed Under: Tournament Results

Related Articles