Seventh Season of "Poker After Dark" To Debut on January 3rd, 2011

Published on November 22nd, 2010 6:59 pm EST

NBC - Universal - Poker After Dark - Television ShowEarlier today, a press release was circulated by "Poker After Dark" producers that included many details about the seventh season of the show.

POKER PROductions, which is the company that produces "Poker After Dark", also announced that they have reached an agreement with NBC Universal that will see the show remain on the air through 2014.

The seventh season of the show is set to debut on January 3rd, 2011. In total, there will be 13 weeks of new shows broadcast during 2011.

According to the press release, "the emphasis will be on cash games" this season. There will only be three freezeouts this season, with only one being of the traditional $20,000 buy-in variety. The other two freezeouts will look like this:

-"Idol" week with Doyle Brunson, Eric Baldwin, Andrew Lichtenberger, Annette Obrestad, Melanie Weisner and Tom "durrrr" Dwan. This week will feature a $50,000 buy-in with the winner taking home $300,000.

-"Big Heat" week with John Juanda, Erick Lindgren, Phil Ivey, Huck Seed, Tom "durrrr" Dwan and Phil Galfond. This week will feature a $100,000 buy-in with the winner taking home $600,000. This week will kick off the new season on January 3rd, 2011.


The remaining 10 weeks of the season will be nothing but cash games, which should go over very well with the poker community. Each cash game will last two weeks. Four of the five cash games will be NLHE, while the other will feature Pot Limit Omaha as the game of choice. Here are the details:

NLHE, $100,000 minimum Buy-in - Mike Matusow, Chris Ferguson, Michael "The Grinder" Mizrachi, Brandon Adams, Peter Jetten, Jean-Robert Bellande, Phil Hellmuth

NLHE, $100,000 minimum Buy-in - Phil Hellmuth, Andy Bloch, Huck Seed, Antonio Esfandiari, Annette Obrestad, Justin Smith

NLHE, $150,000 minimum Buy-in - Eli Elezra, David Peat, Olivier Busquet, Phil Laak, Greg Mueller, Howard Lederer

NLHE, $200,000 minimum Buy-in - Phil Ivey, Tom Dwan, Patrik Antonius, David Peat, Eli Elezra, David Oppenheim

PLO, $100,000 minimum Buy-in - Phil Ivey, Tom Dwan, Brandon Adams, Brian Hastings, Phil Galfond, Patrik Antonius, Jared Bleznick


The seventh season of the show was filmed at the new Aria Resort and Casino in Las Vegas. According to the press release, the Aria will be the new host of the show through 2013.


Filed Under: Poker on Television

Related Articles